January 13, 2012

GSU’s African American History Month Kick-Off

Inaugural Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Leadership Awards Luncheon

GRAMBLING, LA – Grambling State University president, Dr. Frank G. Pogue, will host the university’s first Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award Luncheon on Wednesday, February 1, 2012 at 11:00 a.m. in the Black and Gold Room of Favrot Student Union.

The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes and honors persons who, through their service to Grambling State University, the state, region and country, exemplify the character, leadership and selflessness of Dr. King and other noted African American leaders.

This year’s awards will be presented in the following categories: Fannie Lou Hamer Political Award recipient, Louisiana Representative Patricia Haynes Smith, District 67 of Baton Rouge and Madame C. J. Walker Business Award recipient, Mr. Kerry Joe Briggs, alumnus, businessman and philanthropist of Houston, Texas.

A limited number of tickets are available at $10 per person and may be purchased by contacting the Office of Institutional Advancement, 100 Robinson Street, on the Grambling campus (across from the Army ROTC Building) or by calling (318) 274-2217.

Click here for PDF.

# # #

Media Contact:
Debra Johnson


Powered by WordPress