« Back to Events

2nd Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Luncheon

iCal Import
02/05/2013 11:00 am
02/05/2013 12:00 pm
Black & Gold Room (FSU)
Grambling State University, Grambling, LA, United States, 71245

The second annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award Luncheon will be held February 5 at 11 a.m. in the Black and Gold Room of Favrot Student Union.

The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes and honors people who, through their service to Grambling State University, the state, region and country, exemplify King’s character, leadership and selflessness.

Each nominee must have been personally or corporately involved in making tangible, visible, and meaningful contributions to the advancement of race relations, and/or human rights causes in one or more of the following areas: Arts, Business, Education, Justice, Political, Religion, Science and Technology.

FOR TICKETS, contact Shirley Clay or Rose Wright in the Office of Institutional Advancement, 100 Robinson Street, on the Grambling campus, across from the Army ROTC Building. Or, call 318-274-2217 or email wrightr@gram.edu or clays@gram.edu.

President Frank G. Pogue has confirmed the following awards for the MLKing Distinguished Leadership Award Luncheon.

  • Charles Drew Science & Technology Award: Drs. Richard & Edith Rayford
  • Fannie Lou Hamer Community Service and Leadership Award: Mrs. Valena Lane & Mayor Edward Jones
  • Dr. Kara Vaughn Jackson Education Award: Dr. Lamore J. Carter
  • Madame C. J. Walker Business Award: Mr. Calvin Wilkerson, posthumously

Award recipients have been notified.

Tickets are $10.00 each.
Need to purchase early. Limited number available.
Deadline for ticket purchases is January 31.


- Drs. Richard and Edith Rayford: Dr. Richard Rayford is a cardiologist from Jackson, MS; Dr. Edith Rayford is a obstetrician/gynecologist; Dr. Richard Rayford is a member of the Grambling University Foundation Board, he is an alumnus of GSU; he and his wife have an endowed scholarship in their names

- Mrs. Valena Lane: former Lincoln Parish music teacher; after retirement worked as Grambling Housing Authority Director; active in Grambling Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority; the LINCS; coordinator of Grambling Season of Giving Campaign; many other city and state organizations, committees and programs.

- Mayor Edward Jones: GSU alumnus; former university employee; mayor of the city of Grambling.

– Dr. Lamore J. Carter: Vice President of Academic Affairs Emeritus; served GSU in various capacities for over 41 years

- Mr. Calvin Wilkerson, posthumously: owner of The Collegiate Shoppe in Grambling, oldest African American business in the state still operating; served on Lincoln Parish School Board, Board of Supervisors of the ULS (then Board of Trustees); daughter, Mrs. Delores Smith and son, still operate the business and will be asked to receive award on his behalf.


Powered by WordPress