Nominations now open for Grambling State Distinguished 10 Award

Completed nominations due by July 15

Grambling, La.- May 31, 2024 – Last year, Grambling State University established The Distinguished 10 Award, an initiative created to honor 10 GSU graduates who have demonstrated excellence in their industry and community. This prestigious award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions through their leadership, innovation, and dedication.

“Grambling State University has an impressive slate of alumni that contribute to society in a way that is truly transformative,” said Brandon Logan, Vice President for University Advancement and Innovation at GSU. “Celebrating their success and significance is an honor, and we take pride in elevating their stories.”

Building on the success of the inaugural cohort, the nomination process is now open to identify the next cohort of The Distinguished 10 for 2024. This initiative continues to celebrate alumni who exemplify outstanding leadership in various fields such as business, research, public service, and philanthropic endeavors. These remarkable individuals are not only successful in their careers but also make meaningful impacts in their communities, embodying the spirit and values of Grambling State University.

Last year’s Distinguished 10 honorees included women’s basketball coaching legend Patricia Cage Bibbs,’72; Kyrus Branch, ’03, East District Patrol Deputy Chief for the Arlington (Texas) Police ​Department; Dr. Farrah Gafford Cambrice, ’99, Associate Professor of Sociology at Prairie View A&M University; Dr. Evelyn Ford Crayton, ’68, former President of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics; Laphilia Nicole Davis, ’03, founder and CEO of Butler-Davis Tax & Accounting, BD Payroll, and Groundworx Contractors; La Shanda Hurst, ’95, Business Program Manager for the Microsoft Philanthropies Employee Giving program, Prince Hutchinson, ’05, talent acquisition specialist for State Farm, Dr. Joslin Mar-Dai Pickens, ’00, Owner of Vegans on the Run, Chair of the Communication and General Studies Department and tenured Associate Professor of Communication and Mass Communication at Southern University at Shreveport; Dr. Lamarr Shields, ’94, Co-Founder and Senior Director of Education and Innovation at the Cambio Group; and Dr. Mevla K. Wallace ’99, President of Huston-Tillotson University.

For more information or to nominate a Grambling State alumnus for this esteemed award, visit