Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be as follows: (1) to serve as an advisory body to the University President, Vice Presidents, and other administrators; (2) to act as a liaison between the faculty and the administrators; (3) to develop and foster a close cooperative relationship among the faculty, students, and administrators; and (4) to conduct studies and offer recommendations and advisory opinions to the University President, Vice Presidents, and other administrators on all matters of general University concern.


The officers of the Senate shall be a President, a Vice-President, a Secretary, an Assistant Secretary, and a Parliamentarian.


Any full-time faculty member of a department which has been in effect for more than two semesters shall be eligible for election as a faculty senator, without reference to his/her rank, title, post, or number of semesters at the University.


The term of office for each senator shall be two years. However, senators may serve for as many 2-year terms to which they are elected by their respective departments.


All faculty, students, and staff are invited and encouraged to attend faculty senate meetings. The Faculty Senate meets on the first Tuesday of every month at 11:30 a.m., CST. Please check with your department’s faculty senator for information about the meeting or contact